Lose Yourself

It has always been my desire to explore the unknown and discover the unseen. I decided to venture into the wilderness, setting off on a hike in the surrounding mountains that encircled my parents local city in Serbia. The ascend up was very tiring yet rewarding. Every step revealed a view that would take my breath away.

20140701_224637-kdcollage

I noticed many small houses or cottages that were barely visible from all the trees that obscured anything that seemed out of place. I thought the houses were abandoned, yet on closer inspection I discovered that people actually inhabited these secluded and distant shelters. The people I encountered seemed to come from another time, far from the fast-paced world we live in today. They seemed perplexed at first, seeing me with a phone in my hand, taking pictures of everything with every chance I had. However, one greeting from me seemed to make their day as well as mine. Their dog terrified me by the way. Its size was magnified in my eyes in which I hurried off, skipping down without a backward glance!

IMG_20140701_161310

Even though they probably don’t have the necessities that we all need like sufficient clean water or electricity or even food, they seemed happy; something that this world needs, more laughter and smiles and appreciation for the chance to live in such a beautiful world.

Only when we step out of our shoes and see how the unprivileged and less fortunate than us live, will we start to appreciate the small things in life that give life its true meaning.

“To see the world, things dangerous to come to, to see behind walls, to draw closer, to find each other and to feel. That, is the purpose of life.” – Walter Mitty (The Secret Life of Walter Mitty)

IMG_20140701_160525

Leave a comment